WMFE is Central Florida's primary provider of NPR programming on 90.7 FM and Classical Music on 90.7 HD2. Part of the community since 1965, WMFE focuses on providing quality national and local news and programming. We inspire and empower all Central Floridians to discover, grow and engage within and beyond their world.
Support for 90.7 WMFE is provided by

Remembering the Victims of the Pulse Nightclub Shooting

A vigil was held Monday, June 13, on the lawn in front of the Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts.

Stay tuned in to our local news coverage: Listen to 90.7 WMFE on your FM or HD radio, the WMFE mobile app or your smart speaker — say “Alexa, play NPR” and you’ll be connected.

Orlando is reeling from the largest mass shooting in U.S. history. It happened around 2:00 a.m. Sunday, June 12, 2016, at the Pulse gay nightclub when a lone gunman opened fire, killing 50 people and wounding dozens more. The gunman, Omar Mateen of Fort Pierce, was killed several hours later in a shootout with police after a hostage standoff inside the club.

The City of Orlando has released the names of 49 victims. Here are their names, their ages and most of their faces.


Edward Sotomayor Jr., 34, Sarasota, Fla.

Stanley Almodovar III, 23, Clermont, Fla.

Juan Ramon Guerrero, 22

First picture of the year. Happy 2016

A photo posted by Juan Guerrero (@juang0628) on

Eric Ivan Ortiz-Rivera, 36, Orlando, Fla.

Luis S. Vielma, 22, Sanford, Fla.

Peter O. Gonzalez-Cruz, 22


Luis Omar Ocasio-Capo, 20


Kimberly Morris, 37


Eddie Jamoldroy Justice, 30


Darryl Roman Burt II, 29


Deonka Deidra Drayton, 32


Anthony Luis Laureanodisla, 25

Jean Carlos Mendez Perez, 35


Franky Jimmy Dejesus Velazquez, 50


Amanda Alvear, 25

Martin Benitez Torres, 33


Luis Daniel Wilson-Leon, 37


Mercedez Marisol Flores, 26


Xavier Emmanuel Serrano Rosado, 35


Gilberto Ramon Silva Menendez, 25


Oscar A Aracena-Montero, 26

Simon Adrian Carrillo Fernandez, 31

Oscar Aracena-Montero, left, and his partner Simon A. Carrillo, right.


Enrique L. Rios Jr., 25


Miguel Angel Honorato, 30


Javier Jorge-Reyes, 40

Jason Benjamin Josaphat, 19


Cory James Connell, 21


Juan P. Rivera Velazquez, 37

Luis Daniel Conde, 39


Jonathan Antonio Camuy Vega, 24


Christopher Andrew Leinonen, 32


Frank Hernandez, 27


Shane Evan Tomlinson, 33


Brenda Lee Marquez McCool, 49


Angel L. Candelario-Padro, 28


Geraldo A. Ortiz-Jimenez, 25


Akyra Monet Murray, 18

Paul Terrell Henry, 41


Antonio Davon Brown, 29


Christopher Joseph Sanfeliz, 24


Alejandro Barrios Martinez, 21


Rodolfo Ayala-Ayala, 33


Tevin Eugene Crosby, 25


Yilmary Rodriguez Solivan, 24


Joel Rayon Paniagua, 32


Juan Chevez-Martinez, 25


Jerald Arthur Wright, 31


Leroy Valentin Fernandez, 25


Jean C. Nieves Rodriguez, 27

Get The 90.7 WMFE Newsletter

Your trusted news source for the latest Central Florida COVID-19 news, updates on special programs and more. Support our extended coverage.


WMFE Journalistic Ethics Code | Public Media Code of Integrity

About Jenny Babcock