WMFE is Central Florida's primary provider of NPR programming on 90.7 FM and Classical Music on 90.7 HD2. Part of the community since 1965, WMFE focuses on providing quality national and local news and programming. We inspire and empower all Central Floridians to discover, grow and engage within and beyond their world.
Support for 90.7 WMFE is provided by

Two New Faces on Orange County Board of Commissioners

Play Audio

L to R: Mayor Teresa Jacobs; District 2 Commissioner Bryan Nelson; District 4 Commissioner Jennifer Thompson; District 6 Commissioner Victoria Siplin. Photo: WMFE News

Transportation, jobs, and equal opportunities for women and minorities are at the top of the agenda for two new members of the Orange County Board of Commissioners. Bryan Nelson and Victoria Siplin will serve Districts 2 and 6 respectively for the next four years. At a swearing-in ceremony today at the Orange County Convention Center, Nelson and Siplin said their plan to work with second term Mayor Teresa Jacobs and District 4 Commissioner, Jennifer Thompson, to develop the county.

Siplin said she wants to make sure money from development and tourism along International Drive benefits women and minorities.

“We know there’s a lot of tax dollars—tourism tax dollars—that are going to be poured into I Drive, so we just want to make sure that jobs are created and that we get a fair share of those jobs and also the contracts.”

Bryan Nelson, a former state representative, said he wants to bring a commuter train to District 2. The Orange Blossom Express would run from Orlando to Lake County. Another priority, he said, is to preserve local government.

“We always say in Tallahassee, ‘It’s the unfunded mandates that we’ve got to be careful of down here at the local government,’ so now I’ve got to be on the other side and wear my hat and say, ‘Ok, State. No more unfunded mandates.’”

Victoria Siplin replaces two-term district 6 commissioner, Tiffany Moore Russell. Bryan Nelson replaces two-term District 2 commissioner, Fred Brummer.
Orange County Mayor, Teresa Jacobs and District 4 Commission, Jennifer Thompson, were also sworn this morning.

Get The 90.7 WMFE Newsletter

Your trusted news source for the latest Central Florida news, updates on special programs and more.

Stay tuned in to our local news coverage: Listen to 90.7 WMFE on your FM or HD radio, the WMFE mobile app or your smart speaker — say “Alexa, play NPR” and you’ll be connected.

WMFE Journalistic Ethics Code | Public Media Code of Integrity

About Renata Sago

Renata Sago