Nursing Homes Must Have Generator Today Or Face A Fine
Nursing homes and assisted living facilities must have a generator that can run the air conditioning starting Tuesday. If not, they risk a $1,000 dollar a day fine.
The emergency rules come after more than a dozen patients died when a South Florida nursing home lost power from Hurricane Irma. So far, the state says 21 nursing homes and 1,250 assisted living facilities aren’t following the rule. But industry groups dispute those figures, and say it’s impossible to meet 60 day deadline.
A state judge ruled against the deadlines, but Governor Rick Scott’s administration said the rules are in effect during an appeal.
Meanwhile, lawmakers are also debating the issue, as well possible funding for upgrades. Critics have pounced on Gov. Rick Scott’s handling of the issue. Scott is widely seen as planning a run against Senator Bill Nelson in 2018.
WMFE is a partner with Health News Florida, a statewide collaborative reporting on health care.
Health reporting on WMFE is supported in part by AdventHealth.
Get The 90.7 WMFE Newsletter
Your trusted news source for the latest Central Florida COVID-19 news, updates on special programs and more. Support our extended coverage.GET THE LATEST