90.7 WMFE and 89.5 WMFV are Central Florida's primary provider of NPR programming and Classical Music. Part of the community since 1965, providing quality national and local news and programming. We inspire and empower all Central Floridians to discover, grow and engage within and beyond their world.
Support for 90.7 WMFE is provided by

Election Results: Who Won In Your Area?

Photo: Flickr Creative Commons


Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer has won his bid to Orlando’s mayor for a fifth term.  Dyer was first elected in 2005. Commissioner Sam Ings  gave up his seat on the city council to challenge Dyer. 

Dyer was also challenged by Navy veteran and businesswoman Aretha Simons. Bakari Burns is ahead in the race to replace Ings on the city council, but the vote will go to a runoff.

To see voter turnout by the numbers, click here.


Challenger Catherine T. Hoechst  has been elected Mount Dora’s mayor. Hoechst was previously mayor from 2013 to 2015. 

Mike Sykes has been elected mayor of Mascotte, a town in Lake County. Krull, the incumbent, had accused Sykes of violating Florida campaign laws, but the state election commission cleared Sykes. 

Mount Dora Charter Amendment 6 Mount Dora:  YES

Elections for Mount Dora City Commission will no longer have runoff elections if candidates don’t get more than half the vote. A plurality will get a candidate into office.

Clermont Charter Amendment Number 1: YES 

The city of Clermont will now have term limits for people elected to the city council. Those elected will now be limited to eight years total, with four consecutive terms.

Clermont Charter Amendment Number 1: YES

People who want to run for Clermont’s city council will now have to live in the city for 18 months before they are eligible to run for office.

Tavares Bond Referendum: AGAINST BONDS wins

The city of Tavares will NOT borrow $27 million dollars to build a performing arts center and garage after voters rejected a bond referendum. 

Montverde Charter Referendum Montverde: YES

The town of Montverde has voted to hire a professional city manager to run the city. Previously, the mayor was chief administrator of the town of 18-hundred.

To see voter turnout by the numbers, click here


The city of Oviedo has a new mayor. Megan Sladek was elected today. Former mayor Dominic Persampiere did not run for re-election. 

Another longtime commissioner Steve Henken did not run for re-election. Judith Dolores Smith was elected to the Oviedo City Council.

To see voter turnout by the numbers, click here.


The Volusia County town of Lake Helen has elected incumbent Daisy M. Raisler as mayor. 

To see voter turnout by the numbers, click here.


City of Cape Canaveral Referendum Economic Development Ad Valorem Tax: NO

Cape Canaveral voters rejected a bid that would have allowed the city to offer property tax breaks to businesses that bring full-time jobs into the city. 


Get The 90.7 WMFE Newsletter

Your trusted news source for the latest Central Florida news, updates on special programs and more.

Stay tuned in to our local news coverage: Listen to 90.7 WMFE on your FM or HD radio, the WMFE mobile app or your smart speaker — say “Alexa, play NPR” and you’ll be connected.

WMFE Journalistic Ethics Code | Public Media Code of Integrity

Talia Blake

About Talia Blake

Morning Edition Host & Reporter

After a brief stint as Morning Edition Producer at The Public’s Radio in in Rhode Island, Talia Blake returned to WMFE, the station that grew her love for public radio. She graduated with a double-major in Broadcast Journalism and Psychology from the University of Central Florida (Go Knights!). While at UCF, she ... Read Full Bio »