WMFE is Central Florida's primary provider of NPR programming on 90.7 FM and Classical Music on 90.7 HD2. Part of the community since 1965, WMFE focuses on providing quality national and local news and programming. We inspire and empower all Central Floridians to discover, grow and engage within and beyond their world.
Support for 90.7 WMFE is provided by

Coming 2 America, Sounds Of Zamunda: Tiny Desk (Home) Concert

Coming 2 America - Sounds of Zamunda perform a Tiny Desk (home) concert.

The Tiny Desk is working from home for the foreseeable future. Introducing NPR Music’s Tiny Desk (home) concerts, bringing you performances from across the country and the world. It’s the same spirit — stripped-down sets, an intimate setting — just a different space.

Over the years, African musicians have elevated expectations at the Tiny Desk. The distinctive vibrations left by artists like Burna Boy, KOKOKO! and the Soweto Gospel Choir have lead to some of the most unforgettable moments in our rich history. This (home) concert feels like the culmination of all of those moments.

To celebrate the new compilation Rhythms of Zamunda: Music Inspired By Coming 2 America, six artists representing four countries in Africa perform a megamix of selections from the project. Each performance from the pan-African project bridges the distance between the countries and cultures, and gets more exhilarating by the minute.

South Africa’s Nasty C — who’s arguably the biggest rapper on the continent — opens the set and trades verses with Tiny Desk alumni Ari Lennox on “Black and White.” He then sends us over to Cameroon for some Afrobeats flavor, courtesy of Locko and his stripped-down version of “Magnet.” We then circle back around to South Africa to hear from R&B newcomer Ricky Tyler. From there, we head north to Nigeria to do the “Jiggy Bop” with Alpha P before we take one last trip to South Africa for award-winning dance DJ and producer Prince Kaybee’s “Fetch Your Life,” featuring Msaki. Finally, Togo duo Toofan dares us not to dance to “Yé Mama.”

In addition to the sweeping range of the showings, the look of each set is stunning: vibrant, opulent colors; meticulous Tiny Desk shelf recreations; gorgeous African artifacts; and a few nuggets dedicated to King Akeem of Coming 2 America. This cultural clash is the biggest amplification of African voices we’ve ever had the pleasure of presenting.


  • Nasty C (feat. Ari Lennox): “Black and White”
  • Locko: “Magnet”
  • Ricky Tyler: “Everything”
  • Alpha P: “Jiggy Bop”
  • Prince Kaybee (feat. Msaki): “Fetch Your Life”
  • Toofan: “Ye Mama”


“Black and White”

  • Nasty C: vocals
  • Ari Lennox: vocals
  • Fundile “FD” Dlamini: drums
  • Christer Kobedi: keys
  • Vaughan Fourie: keys


  • Locko: vocals
  • Joel Parfait Ondigui: bass
  • Benjamin Mouangue Bossamo: guitar
  • Brice Essomba: keys
  • Marc Nzana: drums
  • Martien Oyono: violin


  • Ricky Tyler: vocals
  • Zādok: keys
  • Tino “Beatboy” Damba: drums
  • Tendai “Shoxx” Shoko: bass
  • Innocent Mzizi: guitar

“Jiggy Bop”

  • Alpha P: vocals
  • David Osang: vocals
  • Agu Chinyere Gift: vocals
  • Tosin “SDK” Tade: vocals
  • Femi Jacobs: vocals
  • Olabiyi Julius: keys
  • Ayodele Agbabiaka Oluwasegun: bass
  • Best Amakhian: guitar
  • Ebenezer Olayinka: drums

“Fetch Your Life”

  • Msaki: vocals
  • Prince Kaybee: DJ
  • Zādok: guitar
  • Katleho Motlatla: bass
  • Fundile “FD” Dlamini: keys

“Ye Mama”

  • Barabas: vocals
  • Masta Just: vocals
  • Paul Akakpo: keys
  • Therence Egue: drums
  • Martin Lawson: bass
  • Lionel Adjovi: guitar
  • Sylvie Akpedjo: vocals
  • Lamabara Paul: vocals


Nasty C and Ari, Ricky Tyler and Prince Kaybee

  • Video: Molotovcocktail.tv, Nic Roux, Daniel Tshimowa, Tumelo Mofokeng, Brain Bvumbe, Kyana White, Tyshawn ‘Creedlife’ Smith, Tony Nava, Jonathan Lora, Emmanuel Nkolo, Tommy4K, Josh Binyard
  • Audio: Ebenezer Maxwell, Itumeleng Maponyane, Robin Kohl (Jazzworx), Cliff Machingaifa, Caleb James


  • Video: Director Chuzih
  • Audio: One Style One Nation Films

Alpha P

  • Video: Adetola Films, Mario Vera-Cruz, Clout, Femi Aribisala, Pheabian Miller
  • Audio: Laughter Oyemada


  • Video: Director Barabas
  • Audio: Masta Just


  • Producer: Bobby Carter
  • Video Producer: Maia Stern
  • Audio Mastering: Josh Rogosin
  • Tiny Production Team: Bob Boilen, Kara Frame, Morgan Noelle Smith
  • Executive Producer: Lauren Onkey
  • Senior VP, Programming: Anya Grundmann
Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.

Get The 90.7 WMFE Newsletter

Your trusted news source for the latest Central Florida news, updates on special programs and more.

Stay tuned in to our local news coverage: Listen to 90.7 WMFE on your FM or HD radio, the WMFE mobile app or your smart speaker — say “Alexa, play NPR” and you’ll be connected.

WMFE Journalistic Ethics Code | Public Media Code of Integrity